Art / travel / Venice / world

History vs. Real Life

Almost everyone wants to take a world tour or to be in famous places. It’s a common dream. There are a lot of cities and countries, in short,  a lot of places to see in the world. We rush, in order to appreciate,  the museums and to see its famous monuments.
As someone who has been involved a lot in the arts, I am amongst them, and I think it’s quite normal.
It’s been a few weeks since I arrived at Venice and will be here for a few months more.  Since I am here to study, but also still a foreigner, I have been feeling somewhat between tourist and resident. Since I have about five months remaining and that I have been drowning in the formalities of settling in, I haven’t had a chance to make a touristic tour. However, with the amount of walking on the streets, and I realized I am not too eager for museum visits.
I’ve been thinking; one can appreciate the monumental, historical things and be moved by the artistic heritage of a city; but it’s rarely those things one misses after leaving there. At least, for me, this is the situation. It’s always the streets you walk, the people you laugh with, places you eat, places you pass by when you are lost and trying to find your way.
I have the notebook of the city of Venice by Moleskine and there are a few lines in the first page of that caught my eye:

“For every traveller who has any taste of his own, the only useful guidebook will be the one which he himself has written” Aldous Huxley.

When it comes to classic arts and cultural heritage, Venice is no doubt one of the most interesting cities in the world, the largest open-air museum, if nothing.
However, despite this huge fact, I think people who’ve ever been here remember common things that belong here much more than art pieces; such as the narrow streets, the water canals that come out of nowhere, the mask shops.
I think if anyone ever wants to go back to a city, it is because of the things from daily life;  because this is where you can have memories, where people actually live.

By Eda Güngör

One thought on “History vs. Real Life

Leave a Reply

